poplaamazing.blogg.se

.orb reader
.orb reader









.orb reader
  1. .orb reader for mac#
  2. .orb reader driver#

According to the documentation, you can easily reformat PC ORB disks to Mac format - however, this requires using the ORB Tools utility - which as the writer stated isn't available for Mac yet. You can also go out right now and purchase PC ORB disks at $30 a pop. The ORB enters the market at an attractive price point: just $200 and the media at $30 for a two gig disk.Ī reader replies: "Yes you can reformat previously formatted Mac disks. On the down side, the ORB doesn't have an on/off switch. When I did some informal tests, copying an 11 meg file back and forth, I found that the ORB was faster than my SyQuest 135 and the even slower Zip, but somewhat slower than the external SCSI drive and my internal IDE.

.orb reader

The ORB itself is sturdy, in a metal case, smaller than a Zip drive but heavier. Since the PC version of the ORB has been out for a while, I will be looking for some PC ORB disks which I can reformat on my Mac. Unfortunately, there are no extra disks available yet, so I cannot do a complete backup on ORB media, which is my primary use for the drive at the moment. The Mac version of the ORB tools package is not yet available, but it wasn't difficult to reformat the disk from my desktop using PlusMaximizer to convert it to HFS Plus. Previously I had to sit by and pop SyQuest disks in and out. It was a real pleasure to start a backup on the ORB, as I could just get up and walk away. This suggests that the ORB is stable and Mac friendly.

.orb reader driver#

The drive mounted on the desktop even before I installed the driver for it. He sent us a "review" of his experiences with using it. Reader Jefferson Le Blanc recently purchased an ORB external SCSI removable media drive.











.orb reader